Skip to content Skip to navigation

Predoctoral Researchers

Predoctoral researchers at GSSIMR arrive to the Stowers Institute as talented developing scientists. The exceptional, high-impact research environment and close-knit, supportive community creates an ideal environment for scientific growth. Predoctoral researchers in the program are tasked with identifying significant biological problems and are primarily devoted to conducting laboratory research and publishing of their work in well recognized journals.


Alumni | 2012-2015 | 2016-2019 | 2020 | 2021 | 2022



Michay Diez ’22

National University of San Martin, Argentina 

Roberta Fiorino ’22

University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, Italy 

Julianna Haug ’22

University of Arizona

Paxton Kostos ’22

University of Missouri

Siddharth Shivanandan ’22

Indian Institution of Science Education and Research, India 

Thoa Truong ’22

University of Science, Vietnam

Stefanie Williams ’22

Heinrich Heine University, Germany 


María José (“Majo”) Blanco Salazar ’21

National Autonomous University of Mexico
Bazzini Lab

Amruta Swaminathan ’21

Indian Institute of Science Education and Research
Rohner Lab

Anna Galligos ’21

Rockhurst University
Gerton Lab

Olivia Lawler ’21

John Brown University
Si Lab

Dung Vuu ’21

University of Science, Ho Chi Minh City
Sánchez Alvarado Lab



Carlos Barradas Chacon ’20

Autonomous University of Queretaro and National Polytechnic University of Mexico
Sánchez Alvarado Lab

Camila Behrensen ’20

University Argentina de la Empresa (UADE)
Si Lab

Pablo Guzmán Palma ’20

Pontifical Catholic University of Chile
Gibson Lab

Minling Hu ’20

LanZhou University and Beijing Normal University
Zanders Lab

Haining (Frank) Jiang ’20

Shanghai Jiao Tong University
Zeitlinger Lab

Kaili Li ’20

Henan Agricultural University and Sun Yat-Sen University
Si Lab

Fanning Xia ’20

Wuhan University
Rohner Lab



Danielson Baia Amaral ’19

Federal University of Pará
Bazzini Lab

Luciana Castellano ’18

National University of General San Martin
Bazzini Lab

Sharien Fitriasari ’17

University of Missouri
Trainor Lab

Rahul Garg ’17

Indian Institute of Technology
Yu Lab

Paloma I. Meneses Giles ’17

National Autonomous University of Mexico
Piotrowski Lab

Emma Moore ’18

University of Houston
Trainor Lab

Augusto Ortega Granillo ’16

National Autonomous University of Mexico
Sánchez Alvarado Lab

Julia Peloggia ’17

University of São Paulo
Piotrowski Lab

Kuan-Chih Peng ’19

National Yang-Ming University
Si Lab

Alejandro (Alex) Rodríguez Gama ’16

National Autonomous University of Mexico
Halfmann Lab

Raktim Roy ’17

Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research
Si Lab

Gabriel da Silva Pescador ’19

Federal University of Santa Catarina
Bazzini Lab

Kai Zhang ’17

University of Science and Technology of China
Si Lab


Viraj Doddihal ’15

Indian Institute of Science Education and Research
Sánchez Alvarado Lab
Thesis: Protein dynamics in planarian regeneration

Kyle Patton ’15

Wheaton College
Si Lab
Thesis: The role of protein chaperones in persistence or decay of memory